Mystic Clarification

      Mystic Clarification

      The Mystic talent says that "Sorcerers may know 1 Magic Ritual for every 2 levels of Mystic Talent they possess". Does this mean that a character must have Mystic 2 before she can learn any Magic Ritual at all?

      And just to be clear, when the book says "Magic Ritual," it means one of the four broad categories of Healing, Dreamwalking, Summoning, and Endowment, rather than a more specific task with one of those, correct? For instance, Endowment is a single Magic Ritual, while conjuring a thunderstorm is something one can do with a Magic Ritual but is not a (mechanically distinct) Ritual in itself.

      RE: Mystic Clarification

      Originally posted by Sarkakit
      The Mystic talent says that "Sorcerers may know 1 Magic Ritual for every 2 levels of Mystic Talent they possess". Does this mean that a character must have Mystic 2 before she can learn any Magic Ritual at all?

      And just to be clear, when the book says "Magic Ritual," it means one of the four broad categories of Healing, Dreamwalking, Summoning, and Endowment, rather than a more specific task with one of those, correct? For instance, Endowment is a single Magic Ritual, while conjuring a thunderstorm is something one can do with a Magic Ritual but is not a (mechanically distinct) Ritual in itself.


      You are correct in all cases!

      The short answer is yes to both your questions...

      But let me explain further to remove any ambiguity that may exist in the basic rules:

      It was our intention that the Mystic Talent represent first and foremost a character's potential for magic, and then later her learned experience with ritual magic as her Talent increases. It is possible to show that your character has the potential (the raw talent),...to eventually perform trained, ritualistic magic (without actually having initially bought a Ritual Skill) by merely purchasing a single level in the Mystic Talent...

      As long as a character has at least 1 level of Mystic Talent, untrained magic and magical manifestations might still be possible (meaning that the character has might be able to effectively create the kinds of magical effects the rules describe under the Ritual descriptions, but has not actually learned a Ritual or been trained by a sir'hibas master of any kind). But this type of thing is done like any other attempt to perform a Skill that the character hasn't yet learned (or purchased), which is by rolling half of the ranking (rounded up) of the Characteristic to which that attempted Skill is linked,...in this case, half the character's Essence rounded up...to attempt this untrained and potentially dangerous feat of magic based on the character's intuition and potential prompting from the GM.

      Eventually (assuming the player wants to show that their character has advanced in talent and training), a player would purchase a second Ranking in the Mystic Talent and also purchase the Ritual Skill of their choice, thus allowing them to use the Skill at their full dice.

      Having learned (and purchased) a Magic Ritual as a Skill is like having passed a Driver's Education course and gotten a license, or having bought a rifle and taken classes on how to properly care for and fire it. It is certainly technically possible to attempt either of these skills (driving a car or shooting a rifle) without having gone through the official learning process, but one would do so at considerable risk and with little knowledge about rules, laws, and what to do to make it go smoothly and with less potential for calamity.

      Since the rules as we have written them are open to change or re-interpretation if a GM thinks it will improve their game, particularly lenient or generous GMs might certainly allow a character with either 1 or 2 levels of Mystic Talent to purchase a Magic Ritual if they really want them to have that Skill earlier on, but certainly characters should not be able to know (and purchase) two Rituals till they have a Mystic Talent of 4, or three Rituals till they have a Mystic Talent of 6, and so on...

      And as to the other thing you mentioned, yes indeed, the Magic Ritual Skill refers to one of the four broad categories of Rituals that exist. Having purchased each Ritual, your character is assumed to have been given an understanding of the many different Disciplines that can be performed within that Ritual....

      Hopefully all this helps you and clarifies what you needed to know... :))

      Scottie ^^