How to Explain SHARD and make it sound as intellectually/emotionally fullfilling as I think it is?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• How to Explain SHARD and make it sound as intellectually/emotionally fullfilling as I think it is?

First, praise be to the gods for giving me the courage to make my first post EVER!

Second, and the point of this post/thread, I just purchased the Basic Compendium and all the accessories (excluding those real flash dice) yesterday. Sadly, my 2IC has a dislike of "complexity" in his RPGs, which appears to stem from the large amounts of different dice in many RPG's, as well as the many, many spaces on the average character sheet. I'm fairly new to the table-top scene, in that I've read as many rule books and different systems as I could find, and also played two short-lived but extremely fun sessions of Shadowrun and an extremely interesting but poorly run homebrew DnD, my fondest memory of which being when I shot a guy through the neck from the max range of a shortbow while he was falling from a tower, followed up by setting a second tower ablaze all thanks to getting 4d6 in a row.

Sorry about the rambling, I'm a tad nervous. What i''m asking for is any suggestions on how to explain the game and the system without putting my buddy into mental lockdown over it?

Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

-The Trickster
    • Haha, oh man. Yeah I do know that feel.

It can be very hard to convey a feeling towards something you like... but the reasons for that are several:

Your ideas of a certain thing might be vague, fuzzy.
      Try to define what exactly it is you like about Shard and work from there!

You have different experiences than your audience.
      You experienced Shard in a certain way, or experienced other things in a way that led to enjoying Shard. Maybe you really like arabian/asian/etc fairytales and movies?
      Maybe it's the kung fu?